Halloween = best holiday? Perhaps

I’m going to make this one quick, but I had to share my moment of creativity with a snack i made yesterday.  Despite my love for reeses pb cups… I opted for the “health food” candy in my pantry as the inspiration for this super festive snacky.

Ingredients:

-1-2 slices fave bread (depending on hunger), lightly toasted (I used cinn. raisin swirl)

-whatev form of pumpkin ya got (canned pure, pie mix, the real deal-pureed of course).

-nut butter (i used crunchy raw almond, but if your a skippy kid at heart, by all means)

-DARK CHOCO RAISINETTES!!!!!  the “healthy” candy

ASSEMBLY:

shmear mixture of punkin+butta onto toast(s) into the best punkin shape your artistic ability allows.  Make jack-o-lantern features in punkin.  Put said jack(s) into toaster oven or micro until his facial features start to melt into scary, melty, chocolatey yumminess(no more than 15 sec. for micro or you will be dissapointed inchewy texture of final piece).  Make sure you watch the action taking place in oven/micro as this is where the entertainment takes place.  Pretty pumpkin jack o’Hyde turns into jack o’ jekyl before your eyes!! 

This final step is critical:

Remove specimens from oven, placing on a napkin or plate if your civilized, unlike myself… and eat in the creepiest manner possible to celebrate this spectacular holiday!  Chocolatey, punkiny goodness OH MY!

(or you can just make some toast with pb, pumpkin and dark chocolate raisins and I still think you’ll appreciate the party that takes place in your mouth upon eating this combo).

Adios, mis amigos!

3 Comments

  1. October 29, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    1. That snack sounds delicious!! I love the combo of pumpkin and nut butter. Yum!

    2. Welcome to the blog world!

    3. I have friends who live in South Hero, VT – such a beautiful part of the country 🙂

  2. lilpauladean said,

    October 29, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Holy Moley my first comment!! Thanks pretty lady! I actually used to go to camp in South Hero. If you ever make it over to the Green Mountains you have to contact myself orhomegirl and we could meet for tea in burlington or go for a hike or something! Thanks for the love
    MA

  3. megan said,

    October 30, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    i love toast and pb, but never thought to put pumpkin and/or chocolate on it – yum! I’m pretty much addicted to pumpkin at the moment, so this will fit right in 🙂


Leave a Reply

