For Real?

Okay, so get this:  I’m in the library today (not unlike every other day ofmy life) in the cooking section (also not uncommon) reading one of Paula’s original “Lady and Sons” cookbooks (again… ).  This woman walks past me and then backs up, eyeing my selection with the most stabbing, judgemental stare and says in a manner far to loud and dissrespectful for a library setting “That woman should be ASHAMED of herself!  She’s the reason for this nation’s sick obesity epidemic!”

I Kid.  You.  Not.

I actually just finished watching her episode on krispy creme bread pudding and all I can say is that the woman radiates happiness and kindness.  She also doesn’t deny how “sinful” and “decadent” a lot of her treats are.  The entire nation’s obesity epidemic?  That’s quite a lot of blame to put on a sweet, gentl woman who isn’t afraid to admit that she has a fondness of mayo and butter (I mean, few people don’t, she’s just ballsy en0ugh to admit it).  I won’t mentio the physical dimensions of this woman, as I think it would be a little hypocritical to judge her, but I’m sure you can imagine a bitter, middle-aged woman who doesn’t let herself eat mayo or butter.

I chose a passive reaction to her remark by simply saying, “Hmmm, she actually kind of saved my life.”  The lady gave me the most confused look and left me to my cookbook.  (side note: one day Ill explain the story behind PD’s saving my life).  I almost wanted to bring some stats on the benefits of humor, laughter, happiness, etc.on one’s heart.  I think it’s safe to say that by watching PD or making/eating her food youre pretty much guaranteed to experience some level of comfort and joy.  Maybe shes a little heavy handed on the butter, but she also doesn’t skimp on the love.

Just sayin…

MA

1 Comment

  1. Astrid said,

    August 11, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Hey, this is a great story. I will be at the Healthy Living Sumiit and I want to hear why Paula Dean saved your life! I mean, besides the fact that she makes you realize that sweets are heaven and a necessity in a healthy lifestyle. She is the reason people in America are happy, not the reason of obesity!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

