If you don’t have anything nice to say…

Thumper (Bambi’s pal) gave those words of advice that have prevented me from writing anything: “If you don’t have anything nice to say,” I tell myself, “don’t say anything at all.”  For the past month I have ogled, oohed, ahhed and vicariously “foodgasmed” my way through so many wonderful blogs.  I’ve empathized with some struggles, envied others’ eats, and drowned myself in guilt from my lack of exercise drive in comparison to others.  I avoid acting, sounding and mainly becoming my mother who is known for her superior ability to pity herself and make Debbie Downer look like goddam Tickle-Me-Elmo.  I don’t wish that degree of negativity on anyone, especially the innocent food blog reader who was really just looking for a tasty chocolate cake recipe or weeknight dinner menu.  So there you have it my friends, until I have something nice to say and pull myself out of this pathetic hole of lonliness and let go of the guilt that has become too comfortable a replacement for my childhood blankie… I best not say anything at all. 

Hopefully I’ll conger up something uplifting sooner, rather than later.  Peace out, kids.

One love,

MA

4 Comments

  1. Chillel said,

    March 24, 2010 at 4:53 am

    I’ve only literally JUST stumbled across your blog..
    But i urge you to post whatever you have to say love..
    Life has it’s ups and downs..Acknowledging both the good
    and bad can only be healthy..
    Im sure some other Disney character must have said ‘sharing’s caring’.. :)
    Sorry for totally gatecrashing your blog..
    xox

  2. April 5, 2010 at 5:02 am

    This is always a tricky concept.. I used to get really uneasy about posting things that weren’t positive, but then I realized that my blog is my space. I value honesty, so I think it is really great that you are not pretending everything is alright, but I also think it would be really helpful to express the negative thoughts. I know when I am feeling less-than-positive, a good post can do wonders to lift the negative weights off of my shoulders.
    If people don’t want to hear about it, they don’t have to read it :) Your blog is for YOU and that is all that matters.
    Thanks for the comment on my most recent post… there are so many opinions and options floating around and it’s been great for me to see them all. <3 Tat

  3. Mama Pea said,

    April 6, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    I agree with the previous posters…this is YOUR place. Even the negative or silly can impact people in unexpected ways (as evidenced by your email to me tonight…which I will respond to soon). You owe nothing to your readers…this is for YOU. I have to remind myself of that constantly when I want to take a night off, right about a spiritual concept or just let my kids have a break from a camera in their face. I would just encourage you to keep writing when you want and about what you want! I’ll come back, I promise! :)

  4. May 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    hey i hear u on this one…i find it hard…i feel like i am often too negative…but sometimes just gotta vent or cry …know what i mean?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

