An ode to brothers…

It occurred to me this morning while reading the lovely musings of Snackface and Lo, that it would be essential to, at some point in this blog, pay homage to my hombres at home (hows THAT for an alliteration).  At such an immature stage of my blog, I realized that there would be no better time to take on this task than now: a point at which you’re just getting to know me.  The truth is, I really don’t think you can really understand the core of who I am without knowing the two most significant figures in my life: my brothers.  I have two of them, both older (maturity not factored into age, as this would make them more 13ish than their respective 26 and 29).

Lowell is my eldest brother.  He’s a smashing 29 year old, sensitive singer/songwriter that many a UVM college gal drools over all around Burlington.  He’s named after the late Lowell George of Little Feat (if you’re unfamiliar with the band, ask your parents.  Old school rockin band of our parents gen.  Killer tunes.  Nuff said).  There is so much to his story, but for now I’ll just tell you that he fits the oldest brother role to a tee.  Slightly overprotective, often worried, sometimes melancholy, and is notorious for a) taking the entire third row in our old van on long car rides while the other two of us squeeze into the smaller middle row and b) conveniently needing to make a phone call or go to the bathroom after dinner to avoid dish duty.  But aside from the aforementioned nuances of a typical oldest bro… this guy has a heart of gold.  He’s got more love and passion in his soul than most, possibly all men that I know.  Sure, I probably don’t fight with anyone more than him, but that’s only because he cares so much, maybe too much-if thats possible.  Want to swoon a little, girls?  check out his music/site at www.lowellthompson.com.

Then there was Colin.  What. a. guy. I’ve been told that I was the female version of this downright goofy, surfboarding, sarcastic film writer since I was little.  I wish.  Ladies (and gentlemen) there is no sillier, more generous stud muff out there.  He is my best friend.  Well, truth is they’re both my best friends but in different ways.  If I want sympathy tears and a shoulder to cry on when I’m feeling lonely-I’d go to Lowell.  Sure I could go to Col on such occasions… but instead of sharing tears he’d prolly bust out some wise-ass movie quote telling me to suck it up and go drink a frosty brew instead.  Don’t get me wrong… this kid is really sensitive and insecure at heart.  He’s just more into solving problems with humor and sarcasm versus tears and back rubs.  There are few things more frustrating than wanting to spill your guts, cry and complain about your dumb problems, only to find them swept back in your face with jest and humor-leaving you with tears of laughter rather than the tears of sorrow you were anticipating.  Not that there’s anything wrong with this… it’s just how Col “does.”   Colin Lewis Thompson doesn’t “do” serious.  Thats what I have Lowell for.  Lowell was the one who got upset about my drinking underage in high school… Colin was the one who got me drunk in the first place, haha.  I have the best of both worlds, and, perhaps I’m biased… but I have the best damn brothers in the world!  You heard me, I’d be willing to bet my life on this fact.

Lonliness has consumed my existence for a good chunk of my life.  I often find myself lacking any true friendships or relationships for a substantial period of time.  I (and my therapist) have many a theory on why this is, but those are posts for another time, another day.  “A person can’t live without relationships” Ive been reminded by several significant people in my life.  I agree.  I seem to have gotten by on the very bare minimum.  2 people, Colin Lewis Thompson and Lowell Nathan Thompson are the relationships which give me life.  They are my constants.  Our relationships arent perfect, but they are solid.  They keep me grounded, and when I’ve reached that place of darkness that seems to eat me up like a black hole, the shear reminder of my beautiful and dependable brothers brings me light and life again. 

I could have died.  A little part of me maybe wanted to leave this scary earth.  But despite my illness and the creepiness of the hospital walls that surrounded me, I fought.  I fought because of these two “wild and craaaaaaazy guys” (great flic, fyi).  I realize I haven’t exactly written a detailed account of my aforementioned “illness.”  In time, my loves… in due time.

What a sporatic, chaotic, tangenty post.  My apologies.  I guess the blessing that is the two best brothers evahh, makes me foolish and emotional (aka nonsensical).  I love them dearly, if you didn’t gather that already.

lowell, me, col

whole Thompson clan

Love this crew.  Neons and 80s short shorts on the old man and all.

Peace and love

MA

Question: Are you blessed with brothers?  Sisters?  Siblings?  If so, how do they feed your soul?  If not, who are the most inspirational people in your life?

4 Comments

  1. Lo said,

    January 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    um just saying our bros are da same…ryan is 26–goofy, knows everything about every popular culture/music/movie factoid, loves drinking with friends, quiet in a philosopher kinda way, and funny…Stephen is 29, married twice, divorced once, overprotective, nervous, always fought with me, way too insecure for his own good, quiet in a observer way….we both are bff’s in diff ways. Stephen reads my blog and thinks i go out too much. Typical. Ryan reads it and discusses my writing and how awesome the blog looks (he is a graphic designer)…strange how we are way too alike. my brothers are my life and i love them to pieces. It took me awhile to realize this. im glad i did tho and i ended my radical ways when i was 20 because of them..now im just radical in a sane way :)

    xoxo

    lo

    p.s. your writing is fantastic. stick with it.

  2. Lo said,

    January 27, 2010 at 4:05 am

    ok. so i also call my grandpa “poppi” and he would always return by saying “I will poppi you one”….ser we are freakishly sim. love it.

    love u girl!

    xoxo

    lolo

    • mary ann said,

      January 28, 2010 at 2:38 am

      jesus, lo. Its officially gettin a lil creepy how parallel our lives are, but i still loves it. Poppi, for real??? is yours as crazy cool as mine? hes kind of my idol. Hes a goofy, young (at heart) irish man with mad tennis skills (the man is friggin 86!) and despite not having a clue how to play it, he breaks out his harmonica and starts dancing a jig in the most inappropriate places(picture school bookstore, fancy resto, the Louvre, haha). He. Is. The. Man. And youre pretty friggin cool too, lo.
      MA

  3. Jenna said,

    January 30, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Hey!
    I just came across your blog the other day and I really enjoy reading it!!
    I would love it if you could check out my blog and follow as well :)
    Jenna


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

