Short and Sweet.

No, the title isn’t a reference to myself (although I am only five feet tall and only sometimes sweet): just a description of the nature of this post (said the long-winded, tangent-writing, nonsense-making blogger).  I came to the library to check my e-mail and could not believe that I received comments from some of my blog idols.  It’s obviously not such a huge deal to most bloggers (being that they receive 100X the amount of traffic that I do within the first five minutes of publishing) but to me, it means the absolute world!  I embarked on this “blog mission” with the hope of tackling some of my most challenging eating disorder behaviors.  Throughout my recovery (all eight years of it and counting) my peers, therapists, family, mentors, etc. have encouraged me to journal.  I wouldn’t be exaggerating if I said that my bookshelves contain roughly 20+ mostly blank journals (with the one or two doodles/telephone messages scattered throughout).  I blame it on my commitment issues.  While I thoroughly how journaling would be a liberating and cathartic tool for recovery purposes, I just can’t seem to make a habit of it.  I expected this blog to travel a similar path to my dusty tangible versions of a Blog.  But something about getting a few bits of feedback in my inbox this morning was really the inspiration I needed to keep at this writing thing and hope that this motivation expands to the rest of my recovery. 

In essence, this post is a thank you letter.  A thank you to commenters, readers, dare-I-say God(?) for giving me the little glimmer of faith that I needed to face the day and shun my deamons.  So… thanks.

Namaste,

Mary Ann

4 Comments

  1. glidingcalm said,

    January 6, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Blogging can be daunting, but also a lot of fun. The key (for me at least) is just to blog when I feel like I have something to say -> when I WANT to, and not let the frequency of posting by other bloggers make me feel anxious or competitive……or as if I’m not doing enough! Plus, entries written with a good mindset about blogging are always more fun to read anyways!!!

    And p.s. I DEFINITELY have tons of blank journals. At least some of them have pretty paper right?! ;)

    HAPPY WEDNESDAY DAAAAAAAHLING!

  2. Lo said,

    January 11, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    i agree with mama calm, that blogging should be done when, where and how much u want!

    p.s. i am blushing after your proposal. hahahhaa. and yo, do u have the facebook? hit me up! oh and ur comments are the ones that make me bust of laughing the most.

    xoxo

    lolo

  3. homegirlcaneat said,

    January 11, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    YAY! I remember when I first started a certain “big” blogger commented me with the sweetest compliment and I nearly fell off my chair with happiness!! It still happens to me… like when I met Jenna from Eat, Live, Run!! So excited!!! haha! I love the blog world… totally helped me get over certain “issues” and made me so much more normal with food and shiz!! DA BOMB!

    Come to SF THIS SUMMA! Or just hop in my suitcase… it will be GRAND!! :D

    xoxooo

  4. January 17, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Thank you so much for the comment on my blog! I’m glad to hear you are so happy with blogging.. I know it changed my life ;) Not a day goes by where I am not thankful for stumbling upon this place.

    I have a feeling that wonderful things lie ahead for you :)
    xox
    Tat


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

